Hearty Clam Chowder

Clam Chowder #chowder #soup

Clam Chowder #chowder #soup

 

“2014 is coming to an end, and it’s been a great year!” Yup. That’s how long I have been sitting on this post. I am super lazy at times. Actually, it’s not even laziness. I am just in a funk. Nothing’s been working out as planned lately, and it’s been getting in the way of my moods. I keep logging into my blog, and as soon as I tell myself I am going to write, I get distracted and end up doing something else. This blog has definitely been neglected, but I am trying. Starting today. So today I am going to finish this post. In the end, I will have given you a recipe for a delicious hefty clam chowder that I made oh…sometime back in early December.

 

The weather has been off and on with the coldness. It was a really cold day when I decided to make chowder, and it really hit the spot. I have no doubt that soup really is good for the soul. Especially on cold days.

Claim Chowder #chowder #soup

Clam Chowder

 

Seriously, though. Is there anything better than a bread bowl filled with delicious goodness? I think not. Well. I might be lying a bit. I can think of a few things that I love to eat. But I digress. Thick clam chowder with potatoes. Yum. It’s really easy to make, and will definitely be a hit with your family! I used bacon in this recipe, but that’s totally optional. But in my opinion, bacon makes everything better.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb salted pork, diced into 1/2 inch pieces
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 2 celery stalks, finely chopped
  • 2 carrots, finely chopped
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 3 tbsp flour
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 large box of chicken stock
  • 1 can cream of mushroom
  • 1 can cream of celery
  • 2 cans of chopped clams in their juice, drained but juice reserved
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 large potatoes, peeled and diced
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh dill
  • 1 tsp fresh thyme
  • 2 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • salt and pepper to taste

To Make:

In a large dutch oven, or your favorite heavy bottomed soup pan, heat the bacon. Cook until the bacon is nice and crispy. Add the butter, along with the onions, carrots, celery, and garlic. Cook until vegetables are soft, stirring occasionally.

Add the flour and stir. Now add the chicken stock and clam juice. Simmer for ten minutes. Now add the cream of mushroom and celery. Simmer for ten minutes. Now add the bay leaves, thyme, dill, and potatoes. Once potatoes are fork tender, add the salt and pepper, along with the red wine vinegar and cream. Simmer for 20 minutes. Add the clams and simmer another 5-10 minutes. Adjust seasonings per taste.

Serve nice and hot in bowls or a bread bowl!

Clam Chowder  #chowder #soup

Clam Chowder

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “Hearty Clam Chowder

Leave a Reply

