Homemade Bagels

Hi everyone! Long time no see!

I am back, and I have a delicious new recipe for you! I think you will really like this one. Bagels!

I actually had to get blogging inspiration from my good friend Aditi over at Confused Bawarchis. It’s a rough time shifting from one place to another, especially when it is to a new state. I have been in a blogging funk, and really just did not have any desire to even blog anymore. I kept putting it off, and putting it off. I miss my friends, and I especially miss my old next door neighbor. I know absolutely nobody here, and it has been getting lonely at times. I absolutely love my new home though, so that’s a plus. DSC_2058

We are all settled into our new home in Little Rock. K has been working for a couple weeks now and I think we have finally gotten into the groove of things. He doesn’t have a license yet, so every morning he gets up at 430, and I get up at 5 to take him to work. I usually stop at Panera on the way home and grab some bagels, because not only do they open at 530, but they have a drive thru. I don’t even have to get out of the car! Hence, the bagel recipe. I had to figure something out, or I was going to go broke from my bagel addiction.

These bagels are absolutely delicious. They are nice and chewy, just like a proper bagel should be. The use of high gluten flour and malt syrup are definitely what makes these bagels, so don’t skimp out on the proper ingredients! Another bonus? You can get creative and add different toppings to each bagel! I love the asiago cheese from Panera, so I made a few of those. I also did some sesame, poppy seed, and a mixed. They came out absolutely fabulous! DSC_2059

Here’s the recipe!

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups bread flour
  • 2 tablespoons malt syrup
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 1 packet active dry yeast
  • 1 1/2 cups tempered water
  • 1 egg yolk beaten+ 1 tsp water
  • your favorite bagel toppings

 

To Make:

Add the yeast to the tempered water and let it sit for 5-10 min

Add the rest of the dry ingredients to a stand mixer and give it a swirl to mix. Attach the dough hook. Add the yeast mixture along with the malt syrup. You can get malt syrup at Whole Foods, or any similar store. Just maybe not your average everyday market. Mix on low for around two minutes. Scrape the sides, then mix on medium low for about 7-8 minutes. By the end, the dough should be nice and somewhat firm, and not sticky.

Grease a large bowl, and shape the dough into a circle and put in the bowl. Cover with a damp towel and let it sit for half an hour.

Now divide the dough into equal parts, I made 8 bagels. You can go as low as 6 for larger bagels or as high as 12 for smaller bagels. Shape the parts into circles and put a hole on the middle. Stretch it out a bit, but not too much. Let the dough rest on parchment paper covered with a damp towel for 45 minutes. This is what it looks like after rising. 2014-07-09 14.55.59

Now preheat the oven to 425. Get a large wide pan and fill it with at least an inch of water. Bring it to a boil and add a half tsp of baking soda and dissolve. Now turn the heat down and let the water simmer. You want bubbles, but not a rapid boil.

Drop a couple bagels in the water and they will immediately float. Simmer each side for about a minute, and let them rest on a cooling rack until the batch is done. Add the bagels to a cookie sheet with parchment paper. Baste the top of the bagels with the egg wash so that the toppings will stick. Bake in the oven for around 18-22 minutes. Below is what they look like before going into the oven.

2014-07-09 15.20.57

 

Now you have your freshly baked bagels! They will keep for a few days, but they also freeze extremely well!

DSC_2045

Don’t they look absolutely faaabulous?!?

DSC_2042

17 responses to “Homemade Bagels

  1. How wonderful to have you back – I actually had you on my “to-do” list this week as I’d begun to think I’d accidentally DE-followed you, lol. Moving has its pros and cons, may the pros begin to outshine the cons soon for you. 🙂

  2. Welcome back! Having moved through a few different countries in my life I completely relate to the loneliness of leaving one place and arriving in an unknown other. I hope that your settling comes quickly.

    In the meantime, these bagels looks beautiful! I’ve always lamented proper American bagels while in Australia, somehow they never taste right here. I’m definitely going to have to try this recipe, thanks!

Leave a Reply

