Indian Chicken Quesadilla

DSC_1953

 

I love Indian food. I also love Mexican food. Sometimes, I get stuck on a food, especially when I have fresh ingredients or leftovers. Today was actually my third day in a row to eat some sort of Mexicanized food. Avocados were on sale for less than 50 cents at the market. So I bought a few, then I bought some uncooked tortillas. I made guacamole, and I ate it for three days with different meals. The first day I had regular chicken quesadilla. The next day I had fajitas. Today I had an Indianized quesadilla. I think I am done with Mexican for a while!

Fusion food is really fun. It gives you the best of both worlds and allows you to experience new flavors. You can add your favorite ingredients, too, which makes it even more fun. Use leftover chicken or make a fresh batch. I made a fresh batch because I finished leftovers last night. DSC_1947

So, gather your favorite quesadilla fillings and get to cooking!

 

Ingredients:

  • 2 chicken breasts, sliced into thin strips
  • 1/2 large onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • 3/4 tsp coriander powder
  • 1/4 tsp red chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp cumin powder
  • salt to taste
  • 1/2 tsp garam masala powder
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 2 tbsp sour cream
  • 1 tbsp cilantro, chopped
  • 2 tbsp oil
  • your favorite stuffing ingredients
  • tortillas

To Make:

Heat oil in a pan on medium. Add garlic, then onions. Saute till golden brown. Add the chicken. Stir. Add the coriander, cumin, red chili, and garam masala powders, salt. Stir. Add the water. Cover and let simmer for 20 minutes. Remove lid, turn the heat on high. Let the water dry up. Turn heat off, add sour cream and cilantro. Stir.

Assemble with your favorite ingredients between two tortillas. I layered mine with refried beans and cheese. Some good options would be mushrooms, bell peppers, rice, etc.

Voila!

Of course I had to enjoy the last of my guacamole. DSC_1938

DSC_1945-2

 

 

 

9 responses to “Indian Chicken Quesadilla

Leave a Reply

