Recipe Request: Chewy Chocolate Chips with Ginger, Cardamom, and Almonds, and some big news!

DSC_1914

 

I’m very excited writing this post! It’s my very first recipe request from a new venture I am taking part. It’s been a couple of months in the making, but things are final now! I am officially part of the Tugboat group! I was approached by a wonderful lady, who saw potential in my blog! She asked me if I wanted to be a part of Tugboat, and after a lot of consideration, I joined! You can now help me with my blogging adventures! Whether it be a recipe request, ordering a starter Indian spice kit, or just support in general! Take a look hereDSC_1902

So, with that said, here is my first post regarding a recipe request! My wonderful supporter Lydia requested I make a dessert with ginger and cardamom. I racked my brain a few times because there were so many ideas. I finally settled with chewy cookies. These cookies are soft, chocolaty, with just the right amount of spice. Candied ginger meets cardamom and chocolate. Perfect!

So Lydia, I hope you enjoy these little bites of goodness! DSC_1918

In other news, WhitBit’s Kitchen will soon be relocating! My amazingly wonderful boyfriend has been offered an internal medicine residency position  in Little Rock! So, goodbye Alabama, hello Arkansas! We will be moving in twoish months! I can’t wait! I see lots of new and wonderful adventures in our future!

Now for the recipe =)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup unsalted butter, room temp
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup light brown sugar, tightly packed
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 2 1/4 cups flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cardamom powder
  • 1/2 cup candied ginger, chopped
  • 1/3 cup almonds, chopped
  • 3/4 cup milk chocolate, chopped

To Make:

Preheat oven to 375.

In a large bowl, mix butter with the sugars until creamed. Add the egg and vanilla extract and mix again until blended.

In another bowl, sift the flour, salt, baking soda, and cardamom powder.

Add the flour mixture to the butter and sugar and stir until all the flour has been absorbed.

Fold in chocolates, almonds, and ginger.

Using a cookie scoop or tablespoon, drop the cookie dough onto cookie sheet lined with a silpat or parchment paper, about 1.5-2 inches apart.

Bake for 6-8 minutes. Cool for a minute, then remove to a cookie rack until completely cool.

DSC_1912

 

14 responses to “Recipe Request: Chewy Chocolate Chips with Ginger, Cardamom, and Almonds, and some big news!

  1. Cookies sound wonderful and I can’t wait to try them. Congratulations on the move to Little Rock! It’s exciting to explore a new place and reinvent your life a little bit once in a while.

  2. Looks like another fabulous recipe to try but more importantly, congrats on the Tugboat adventure and the news of the move to Little Rock – how exciting! 😉

  3. How can you be so cruel? When I get this post at bedtime I am doomed to drool on my pillow all night long! But I still send you my thanks for the recipe and my hearty congratulations for your achievement! 😉
    xo

Leave a Reply

