Indian Spiced Roasted Butternut Squash

Squash

I am a fan of two kinds of squash: yellow and zucchini. Because of the readily available varieties of squash this time of year, I have been pushing myself to try and like other kinds. I tried pan sauteing butternut squash before, and I just didn’t like it. This time, I roasted it with spices. Although I still did not exactly like the squash flavor, the spices made it bearable. And the spices are actually quite delicious. I found myself just grabbing bits of the caramelized spices from the baking dish. I think the kalonji is what did it for me. I love kalonji. DSC_1055

Unfortunately, I can’t take credit for this recipe. You can find the original here. The only thing I did different, was use cardamom powder instead of crushed cardamom. I am just not a fan of cardamom bits crushing in my mouth. Nope.

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp butter (omit if vegan)
  • 1 tbsp evoo
  • 1 red onion, diced
  • 1 butternut squash, peeled and cut into bite size pieces (not too big, not too small)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • handful of pumpkin seeds
  • 1 tsp kalonji
  • 1/2 tsp cumin powder
  • 1/2 tsp coriander powder
  • 1/2 tsp cardamom powder
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric
  • small cinnamon stick
  • 2 green chilis, halved
  • 1 tbsp caster sugar
  • just shy of a cup of vegetable stock (200 ml)
  • greek yogurt, more kalonji, and chopped coriander for garnishing

To Make: (taken straight from original)

Heat the oven to 400.. Put the butter and oil in a large sauté pan, and fry the onion  over medium heat until soft. Add the butternut, turn the heat up to medium-high and cook for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally, until it starts to get brown.

Remove from the heat and add half a teaspoon of salt, the pumpkin seeds, spices, chilli and sugar. Mix and transfer to an ovenproof dish large enough to hold everything snugly. Sprinkle the cardamom powder. Pour in the stock and roast for 30 minutes, by which point the butternut should be tender and all the liquid absorbed or evaporated.

Serve warm with yogurt spooned on top, a sprinkling of chopped coriander and a few kalonji seeds.

DSC_1046

9 responses to “Indian Spiced Roasted Butternut Squash

  1. we often cook with Cardamon leaving the whole pods in. they impart flavour and then are easy for the cook to pick out with a spoon. Not sure if you’ve ever tried that. Also can open the pods and scrape out the little seeds.

    • Yeah. Since it’s a half Indian household, cardamom is very much a regular ingredient in lots of things we cook. And since it is mainly used in our curries, etc, it gets lost in the sauce and I only remember it when I’ve bitten into it. And since I don’t like biting into any of it, I definitely don’t want any scraped into my food =) So to take care of this, I use cardamom powder, when I think it would be suited. =)

  2. I am a huge fan of anything by Yotam Ottolenghi. He has a way of making pretty much all vegetables taste good! Is kalonji another word for nigella seeds? I haven’t heard that one before. Glad that you enjoyed the butternut squash though… looks so delicious! And I definitely agree, biting into cardamom pods (or cloves!) is pretty ick. Good idea to use the ground stuff! xxx

    • Yeah he is pretty awesome! And I want to buy almost everything from his website. Kalonji is the Hindi word for nigella, so yep =) Yuck, how could I forget biting into cloves. Happens a lot. Makes me have to spit out whatever is in my mouth. Cringing right now!

    • While I do love ketchup, and put it on lots of things, I don’t think I could stop eating french fries. I love them. Hmm. I think I do use other foods for a vehicle to things though. Didn’t even think about that before!

  3. Pingback: Curried Roasted Butternut Squash Soup | WhitBit's Indian Kitchen·

  4. Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    petitchef.com

Leave a Reply

