Goat Cheese and Mushroom Marsala Crostini

DSC_1029   If you’re like me, then not only do you love good food, you love good appetizers. This particular appetizer, is just that. The man and I wanted something light for dinner. He suggested a salad. So I put together a huge salad, with homemade dressing, and I knew these little crostinis would be the perfect accompaniment.

Toasted French bread, with roasted garlic scraped over the top. Lightly (ok smothered) in creamy goat cheese, and topped with a mushroom marsala mix that is absolutely to die for.

I had one problem, though. The man doesn’t like goat cheese! Gasp! I know, I know. Crazy talk, right?! No, no. Just because he doesn’t like the creamy tarty deliciousness that is goat cheese, doesn’t mean I should release dump him back into the wild. Although, I did think about it. I had a plan, though. I knew he didn’t like goat cheese. There’s been plenty of times whilst shopping, that I picked up some cheese a la goat, and he frowned. Or he would slyly suggest a different cheese. Like, um, pepperjack. Don’t get me wrong, I love pepperjack. But sometimes a girl’s just gotta have some goat cheese! Anyways, I digress. Back to the plan. So my plan was… I just wouldn’t tell him that the white creamy stuff he would see underneath the mushrooms was goat cheese. Good plan, eh? Thanks, I was patting myself on the back, I must admit.

DSC_1038

Now, I don’t know about where you live, but here in Alabama, we have some great access to local farms and food supply. I really do try to buy local, whenever possible. Believe it or not, but here in Alabama we’ve got some really really great local goat cheese to choose from. Have you heard of Belle Chevre? Yeah, Alabama can claim that! Although I do love me some Belle Chevre (pronounced ‘shev’, for all you non-French speakers out there), I happened to have some delicious Stone Hollow Creamery  “Stinkin Rose” sitting in my fridge. There’s a restaurant in California that I have been to called The Stinking Rose. It’s garlic everything. They have this dish called 40 clove garlic chicken. Yeah. Loads of garlic. Talk about not kissing someone for a whole year after eating that stuff. I even tried garlic ice cream. Can’t say I’m a fan of that, though. Was just a little much. But that’s neither here, nor there.

Anyways, Stone Hollow Farmstead has a creamy, and woohoo, it is also based in Alabama, and is also quite delicious. They have several different kinds of marinated goat cheese. You can take a look at the options here , and you can even purchase one or two or five if you want. I’ve actually got my eyes on their Blackberry & Wine as well as their Fig marinated goat cheese. I can just see the possibilities with those right now.

DSC_1035So what ended up happening? Well, I put the crostinis together, and brought them to the table along with the salad. I grabbed one, then he grabbed one. I took a bite, he took a bite. I finished mine, he finished his. Then he went for another. Then another. I brought the bowl I had used that had some extra whipped cheese. I stuck my finger in it, because I am shameless. Then he stuck his finger in it, well, because he’s a boy. As I watched him repeatedly finger lick the bowl clean, I snickered to myself at my trickery. After he was finished, I said “You know that was goat cheese, right?” He got all boyish like, and scrunched his shoulders. With a silly grin and the softest voice ever, he said no.

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 baguette, sliced into 1/3″ slices, slightly toasted then rubbed with roasted or raw garlic (optional, the garlic, not the bread)
  • 1/4 pound goat cheese, plain or marinated
  • 2 tbsp cream/half and half
  • 1 pack of mushrooms, thinly sliced, stems removed
  • 2 tbsp evoo
  • 4 tbsp butter
  • 4 shallots, thinly sliced
  • 2 tsp fresh tyme, chopped
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • fresh dill for garnish (optional)
  • 1/4 cup Marsala wine, or Madeira

To Make:

In a bowl, combine goat cheese and cream until the consistency is spreadable.

Heat the oil and half of the butter on medium in a pan. Add the shallots and cook until tender and almost caramelized. Add the mushrooms and cook until tender. Add salt and pepper, to taste. Once the mushrooms are fully cooked and have properly reduced, add the thyme and stir. Now add the wine and the rest of the butter. Stir, reduce flame and simmer for 2-3 minutes.

Top the toasts with the whipped goat cheese. Now spoon the mushroom sauce over the goat cheese. Garnish with fresh dill.

DSC_1034 DSC_1030

 

 

 

 

19 responses to “Goat Cheese and Mushroom Marsala Crostini

  1. hahahaa this is such a cute post! i am catering for my best friend’s birthday tomorrow, i was planning on bruschettas. i will make tomato and feta drizzled with olive oil, mashed potato and cheese and triple cheese lasagna. all vegetarian though.

  2. Hahaaaaa! Ah, I laughed when I got to the bottom of your post Whit! Love it. Heeeelarious. Good on you for your darn awesome trickery. I do the same with Aaron, I cook everything he doesn’t like in various forms (without making any obvious thing about it) until he likes it. I reckon it’s for their benefit 😉 These crostini look so, so delicious!!!! I am a huge fan of goats cheese, and I wish I could access that amazing-sounding Stone Hollow cheese over here. Blackberry and wine? Fig? Argh, they sound so, so good! Anyway, definitely trying this. I adore everything in it! xx

  3. I think it’s important to revisit foods you don’t like. I don’t think I trick people but I eat things I don’t like quite often. I don’t like goats cheese either, but I’ve bought it and cooked with it…just to make doubly sure.

Leave a Reply

