Colombian Inspired Chicken Curry With Rice and Beans

Colombian-Indian Chicken

So at one of my jobs, we are doing a spotlight on Colombia. Each year, the Birmingham International Center focuses on a different country.  It’s really cool, as we get to learn a great deal about other cultures. So whilst doing research, I came across some foods that come out of Colombia. One of them happens to be Pollo a la Coca-Cola. The Colombian recipe is by this really awesome Colombian chick. Her food is drool-worthy. This happened to be the first recipe I tried. Well, I guess tweaked is more like it. So, chicken coke. Yep, you heard right. Chicken cooked in coke. DSC_0862I figured, hey, I love me some coke. I also love chicken. So I guess coke and chicken can’t be all that bad. But, I’ve always got to try to put my own twist on things, and since I do my dabbles in Indian cooking, I decided to turn it into an Indian style Coca-Cola chicken. I was very pleased with the results. The chicken came out incredibly tender and juice, and the curry tasted sweet with a little bit of a tang. In the Colombian version, the chicken is paired with rice and beans, and since I had already Indianized (is that a word?), the chicken, I decided to leave the rice alone..except for I used rajma to give it an Indian feel. I did stick with regular white rice, though. No basmati this time. The chicken and rice made a perfect match, and we got to try something new. It’s always nice trying new things, don’t ya think?

As they say in Colombia, Buen provecho!!

Ingredients:

  • chicken legs, skin on
  • 1 onion, chopped finely
  • 1 1/4 cup water
  • 1 cup of Coke
  • 2 tbsp ketchup
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp coriander powder
  • 1/2 tsp cumin powder
  • 1/2 tsp garam masala powder
  • salt to taste
  • pepper to taste
  • 2-3 tbsp oil
  • 2 cups cooked rice cooked with a bay leaf and cumin seeds and salt, 1 can of rajma

To Make:

In a pan, heat the oil on medium high. Salt and pepper the chicken, then when the oil is nice and hot, sear the chicken on all sides till nicely golden brown. 2013-09-25 20.29.42

Then you’re gonna take the chicken out and put it on a plate to rest. Add the onions to the pan and reduce the heat to medium. Stir until onions are golden, then add the turmeric and ginger garlic paste. Stir until raw smell goes away. Now add everything else to the pan, except for the chicken. Bring to a boil. 2013-09-25 20.38.55

Add the chicken back to the pan, simmer for around 45 minutes, or until chicken is done. 2013-09-25 20.41.51 (1)

To make the rice, just mix the cooked rice and beans together. It ain’t rocket science.

Done, and done! DSC_0859

Doesn’t it look good?

DSC_0860

Are you hungry yet?DSC_0863

5 responses to “Colombian Inspired Chicken Curry With Rice and Beans

Leave a Reply

