Chicken Tikka Tacos, Indo-Mexican Fusion

QQlT97CWEmiz04Z7QFV7LyJPOx-5UonofVwxWKlNVEE

 

Today’s recipe comes in the form of a Mexican Indian fusion. There’s a taco truck right across from my work that has some delicious tacos. I mean these things are seriously good. One taco is two bucks even. They have all sorts of different tacos, along with burritos, quesadillas, tortas, etc. I think because I see a taco truck almost every day, tacos are on my mind a lot. So a few weeks ago I decided to make my own tacos. I didn’t want them completely Mexican, and I didn’t want them completely Mexican. So I mixed the two. I made chicken tikka and raita, to keep the Indian side. I used corn tortillas, salsa verde, and cotija to keep the Mexican version.

The fusion of the two tastes were quite tasty, and makes for a quick and healthy dinner. It’s also quite cheap. Corn tortillas can be bought for around two bucks for like 50 tortillas. Cotija can be bought for around 3 bucks. Everything else you probably have in your kitchen, except for maybe Indian spices. So if you’re looking for something different for dinner, I do suggest you try these tacos!

Ingredients:

  • Chicken Tikka, recipe to follow
  • Raita, click here for recipe
  • salsa verde
  • corn tortillas
  • cotija cheese
  • cilantro

Recipe for Tikka:

Make a marinade of a half cup of yogurt, 1/4 tsp turmeric, 1/2 tsp coriander powder, 1/2 tsp cumin powder, 1/2 tsp red chili powder, salt to taste, 1/2 tsp ginger garlic paste, juice of half a lemon. Whisk ingredients together and add chicken breasts cut into chunks. Refrigerate for at least an hour. Preheat oven to 375. Skewer the chicken and bake in the oven until chicken is cooked, around 25 minutes. Turn the broiler on the last 5 minutes to get a nice dark color. Slice chicken.

zgobMAbvHaYvdvqP-gdOlvgr3Hj89BtE9RZtr7zZuv4

 

Heat the corn tortillas in a pan, flipping. Use two as a base for the tacos. Add the chicken meat. 44tq-YdcwX1Lp-gNBQWE4_jpCzh4vRfZMpy60j3LIvU

Top the the rest of the ingredients, then voila! Done. =)

fz-2aOBnYVi-hhp_k6lZ2_msh-HCrf3fpG9Jw1vWyVI

See? Easy peasy!

l3mv_W2c9Sfe-QnSeRqfbsArUqRa641hNO4rFxpKWlE VjbKpNADdTXwdxiUOASTZt3f4UxgmeCG1-qoqxyGAwE wIjYdwU23GnSEU2HjeooFO8WBMBc8bSEQIR2TZUMRwc QQlT97CWEmiz04Z7QFV7LyJPOx-5UonofVwxWKlNVEE

 

12 responses to “Chicken Tikka Tacos, Indo-Mexican Fusion

  1. Oh YUM. These look amazing Whitney! I am a huge fan of both Mexican and Indian food (as I’m sure you’ll know, from all of my… uh, drool and babbling all over your blog) so the idea of a fusion taco is genius. Absolute genius! I’ve never been able to find cotija over here (wah) so I normally substitute feta. Mmm, yum 🙂

    • Whaaaaaaaaat? There’s no Mexicans in Australia?!?!?!?!?!? =) Haha. I just made myself laugh.
      You could also substitute paneer crumbled into pieces for the cotija. Pretty much the same thing. But Feta…yum. BTW, how’s the olives coming along?

Leave a Reply

