Shahi Paneer

CfMwlSed_JW2gx8ZV4dyHsDvXlrzwb2kLhce7vQvjd4

Shahi Paneer. This dish and I have not gotten along in the kitchen for a very long time. I always messed something up. Either I would use too much almond paste, or it would end up tasting like butter masala. There was always something. This last time, however, I got it just right. Well, just right for me. I had some almond milk in my fridge (I love unsweetened almond milk with my cereal) and I thought hmmmmmmmmmmm. Turns out I’m a genius. The almond milk was the perfect thing for this dish. I did use a few almonds that I soaked in the milk and then ground, just to provide a thickening.

But anywho, shahi paneer is one of those dishes we all love to order at restaurants. Especially vegetarians. It is rich and creamy with such a unique flavor. It really is delicious, so if you’ve never had it before, you really ought give it a try.

Ingredients:

  • paneer, cubed
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 1 green chili, diced
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp ginger garlic paste
  • 1 tsp shahi jeera
  • 1 stick cinnamon
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 cups unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 tbsp yogurt
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp coriander powder
  • 1 tsp cumin powder
  • 1/2 tsp garam masala powder
  • 1/2 tsp red chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp cardamom powder
  • salt to taste
  • oil for cooking

To Make:

Heat oil in a pan to medium-medium high. Add paneer cubes and saute till golden brown. Drain on paper towel and keep aside. AEInt8Ck39gFpFohyaO8ORRkZvwhQ6D55kGN_4Py53o fzD5XBvEoeJQ8ND8At-FANADEtuSGUZdpDXL_Ivy9kM

In the same pan, saute the tomatoes, onions, and green chilis. You don’t need to saute till brown, just till soft. McaT-YB81bXTEhIm0AmVc-WT74NPQj38cmwwx5war4Y WeTYAis1AlaFST_n8nOTE5D21WW7dBCPrAd7-cedUP0

Add the ginger garlic paste and turmeric. Saute for a minute, then puree. In the same pan, add some more oil. Saute shahi jeera along with the cinnamon and bay leaves. My oil is a little bubbly because I used coconut oil. 5yUgrb1nsTv8YM1ag5Fn_qTo-nUdbfsceMZQtIDBHUo

Once the smell of the spices comes out, add the puree blend. y5M8sZtRbeS2b0RfPOfDjifwg4ZFHeF6jNRWfSqbMo0

Stir and saute for a few minutes. Add the almond milk. y46cn2wEPpyxI45n0Ghgv_QEmoHzE7FlfkzdV4f7bSY

Stir and add the yogurt, then the rest of the spices. h-ZUfwV-D81waLbC2SkRaGfDrPkgnWelMzvuOPrI0Hw BPS0XnOPrsAEcbRTzTUuv2m0s778cOnm5lqLshkTr6M

Cover and simmer for around ten to fifteen minutes. Stir every so often. Adjust spices as necessary, add more almond milk if necessary. Add paneer and simmer for another five minutes. M7DZVAs8HhhWo01UhsdPDJdt1bj55EiSaX_rQZFqg8Y bPPpL9D5BgUcSLFoG0n9cmOsld5XOcWIDMp8Tz_YGRw

This dish would go wonderfully with fresh naan. But you could also serve with roti or rice. dgyNlwmReAa6igSW9yuIAg4uCGZ8bDHeTPKL4dSO72o vEdcezswpdEO23vPKXgRPxWhak5aEnTBBmFT2RyHzQkzIjLZCExfBcGTMrWjgpBePkYj-PjCbClTePKxsbC7s8

5 responses to “Shahi Paneer

  1. Oh my gosh. I am such a paneer fiend, it’s one of my favourite things on the surface of the earth. Seriously. This looks amazing Whit!!! Can’t believe you used almond milk though. Great idea… on my to-make list!! xx

Leave a Reply

