Bhindi Fry (Okra Fry)

WPhTxw3cEUovlmfqUp152Yu-m9-yjynLVQadJ1LpMNI

Bhindi is one of my favorite Indian foods to eat. When I was younger, I would always order bhindi at the restaurants. As I became older, and as I started cooking my own Indian food, I realized that not only was I able to easily make this at home, but I was wasting money on such a simple dish. Ever since, I save the bhindi for home, and save the complex and rarely eaten meals for the restaurants. _C5rAo4oh3HqxIQgt4QGcgX4BfoXW3Sgk5wOBX2RHNA

It really is a very simple dish. Once the okra is added, you pretty much just leave it alone until it is cooked, with very infrequent stirs. I recommend using fresh okra, although you can use frozen and it will work just fine. Fresh will cook much faster, and you can control the size of the slices. When you use frozen, the cooking process will be longer and you’re bound to bite into a piece that you can’t chew. Also, okra cooks down quite a lot. It is like spinach. It also has a natural saltiness to it, so don’t add too much salt while cooking.

I love the tartness of bhindi fry, and I really like it to be dry. Bhindi goes great served with naan or chapati.

*in the pictures, I was only making a very small batch. The ingredients below will provide a proper meal for 2-3 people.

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound of fresh okra, washed and dried, cut into slices (or one bag of frozen okra)
  • 1/2 tsp cumin seeds
  • 1/2 tsp kalonji
  • 1 onion thinly sliced
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp red chili powder
  • salt to taste
  • 1/2 tsp amchur powder (or more to taste)
  • 2 tbsp oil for cooking

To Make:

In a pan, heat the oil on medium. Once hot, add kalonji and cumin seeds.

zHxiDt4n4FOeu6GO9MmtJiD0J3Mjdu504QC5Gv8ayA4

When the seeds crack, add the onions. 8FECNcVR29umAL9M4IpQ4YHB7BrXIt2Y11ZfTpjt7PI

Stir and saute onions until barely translucent. Add turmeric, stir. Add okra and red chili powder. Stir. EKfR84Iazesb8tSWIyFTe4mjvTdwpjw0EVbt2f3Kcpg

Once everything has been stirred. Just leave it alone for several minutes. Stir every five minutes or so. If you stir it too much, especially if stirring frozen okra, it will get all gooey. It is gonna be gooey while cooking regardless, but you will know when the okra is finished cooking because there will be no more goo.

6N33eUVkk-rQbxJSAQf9j3mi3CiQeVIxRNTZ7LOzDYg

b

I love having bhindi with naan, but chapatis and roti work great as well. w2yUQN3E79mhks8QJHrd8tX04TmpbsT091GZ7yzM-Hs

31 responses to “Bhindi Fry (Okra Fry)

  1. I have always had trouble with okra, whenever I have had it, its been dry and tough. But this looks so yummy though, I am definitely going to give it a try !! Thanks for the inspiration. x

    • Hm, if your okra is tough, then it is probably too ripe. Look for the smaller, thin okras instead of the really big ones. Maybe that will help?? If you try the recipe, I hope you end up liking it!!

  2. I have always been so intimidated by the prospect of making Indian food, which is a shame because it is SO GOOD! This looks even better than the Bhindi’s I see in restaurants around here. I might need to get over my nerves and try this.

  3. you are right – most people are easily put off by the different amounds of spices (and pots! for cleaning). But once they have started to cook our food – most of them really love it and go on trying out more. Nice blog, Carina 🙂

  4. Lovely bhindi! Another tip for reducing the gooeyness is to dry off every last drop of water from the washed veggie before stir frying. Also, never microwave bhindi or it will be goo-galore! 🙂

  5. Oh yeah… Okra is my favourite also. Liking the combination of spices you used. Strir fried bhindis, even with more simple spices, taste delicious.

  6. Hi, I was looking for an Indian popsicle recipe when I stumbled upon your blog. Trust me, what you are doing is inspiring. You are helping internationalize Indian food. Many are intimidated by the fact that Indian cooking is elaborate, hands on. But the fact that you are doing it and enjoying it is heartening and will probably dispel a few myths. Personally, I like the fact that you are giving a Western twist to some of the Indian foods, like the pie you made out of besan. Interesting. Keep this thing going.

    • This was the sweetest complement I have ever received! It made me feel so good, thank you so much!! I really love Indian food, and I especially love cooking it. Experimenting and knowing that I make something that people enjoy really pleases me. Thank yo so much for your encouragement!!!

  7. i stumbled upon your blog and I am so glad i did! It is so great to see an American blog about Indian cooking! I will be back for more! 😀

  8. I hated okra until I had it cooked the Indian way. It’s actually pretty delicious when fried in yummy spices, mmm! I’m actually more impressed with your bread skills though. I love naan. I need to try making it at home one day!

    • It is delicious when cooked the Indian way right!!! I only like it the Indian way, and fried the Southern way, of course! Any other way, gag. And girlfriend, if you’re talking about the naan with bhindi, totally store bought. I don’t have the time or the patience to make naan every day. It takes hours! Tehehe =)

  9. Pingback: Mom’s Okra Palya | Sugarfree Sweetheart·

Leave a Reply

