Lachha Parantha and Regular Parantha

huQvKCu0S_nMBKqeivcp8IbxkzJhiBDDJTNsXxgWNE0So I have woken up early today, after a much needed extra long sleep. I have an extra hour before I have to be at work, so I am able to post another recipe today. This post will be another type of Indian bread, parantha. I have put two in one, because they can be made using the same dough. Paranthas are a little crispy, and they contain a lot of oil, so they aren’t all that healthy, but they are really good.

I have made the regular parantha into a triangle, and the lachha parantha is its usual circle. Well, my version of a circle. They are both layered, which adds to the flakiness. These can be served in place of roti, chapati or naan.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups atta, whole wheat flour + more for dusting
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1-2 tbsp oil + more for spreading and cooking
  • warm water, for making dough

To Make:

Make the dough. In a bowl combine atta and salt, give it a good stir. Add the oil and incorporate. Add enough warm water, little by little until you can make a smooth semi firm dough. Roll into a ball, cover, and set aside for 20-30 minutes.

Heat a heavy pan on medium. Take the dough and knead it for a minute or so, which will smooth it out even more. Take a pinch about the size of a golf ball. Roll into a ball and somewhat flatten it out. Dip both sides of the dough into flour.

For Lachha Parantha:

Roll the dough out until you get a nice big circle which is pretty thin. Take some oil and rub it over the top of the circle. Take some flour and sprinkle it on the oil, then rub it in. 4dZCXylPjfgOO77CAVLxTTeyoCw3E7ZYINuYVNIu-MULife the dough and make layers, like this: vG1I4sFoWxLi1XqcJxLB94pBpUV4J31qhTmd7yV7D4UThan roll it up like a pinwheel, tucking the last part of the dough under neath. m3I0sxz10DaOp_gVjUM-A-bUctFtBoaMwpO8DruKc98M0LCH7tQz8P3noXoKqeT3tdrUsoZFIZAykH7MfZJotIFlatten, then gently roll the dough out into about 6 inches diameter. Cook one side on medium and when bubbles start forming, spread oil again over the top then turn over.4Of_xueNo6N51kA-bix13thG7LGg_EUbxoA0nSEsBkEContinue to turn over, and use a spatula to gently press on the parantha. Make sure both sides are cooked evenly, and you get a nice brown color. wTGx1dPhRWX3a5Kj35UOTWQjVWa6EFnz4yN-aiYeFk0Stm520czqMEvUKfnnm70HjryLwK_fw5NYl_5BT1ksZ0

For Triangle Parantha:

Roll out into around a 3 inch circle. wPCfQOt8yJggGogCMjeh4gAMvevd2-Sb_zGYIgSMwU0Oil and flour the top of the circle like you would the lachha parantha. Fold the circle in half, then in half again, making a triangle shape. oXjtPkNBjA7o4XthcalQ8EVpV6-Yg5fej0RO428FBYwGently roll out, making sure to keep the shape of triangle. Cook on medium, oiling before turning over. JOlJornPcU-3RtPNgPC9AT6wE4vVq9ze4GaWTP7h998 mcUknVCyzIcikOVD_Lmc2t3mM6a-q9m4RdbJXK4VHCA orDlCRHXh7ew_dteiyF8ZQXso3sh8BXhK6FD5IDfOOgY7UVWtrKcrGI-tQHbRHgb11lvMQ_llMBbtDFAJheXCA Stm520czqMEvUKfnnm70HjryLwK_fw5NYl_5BT1ksZ0 ebf5RdOUfaDU1gWTxn_MWf5k9jMycmCS1VFOPBwjx1U 9XRPRp_dfHUzy-Tt49BaLJKMqEMXeoO3bLhdQqLRK6I

12 responses to “Lachha Parantha and Regular Parantha

  1. Yum! This seems similar to naan. My husbands aunt made these and keema curry on our last visit. Delicious!!

  2. This is a fantastic post Whitney. I adore Indian breads, but I’ve never actually made any at home before. Which of the two is your favourite? I’d imagine that the layered circle would be a little more crispy, in terms of the thickness/folds? I’m definitely going to try this when I next make Indian curry (hopefully tonight! I am drooling right now!) xx

      • Yeeeeeees I did! I just made a pretty routine lamb Rogan Josh though (used the pressure cooker as I only got home at 5.30pm and didn’t want to eat at 9!). Made saffron rice with some spiced Indian potatoes, raita and cachcumber. Ate the lot with some of my lime pickle. Was pretty good but I was over cooking by the time I contemplated making paranthas. I wanted to take some photos to show you but the overhead lighting was awful. Grrr. I’ve got to finish that light box.

      • You know, I prefer to make lamb in the pressure cooker when making for curry. It really does cut down on the time, and the lamb always comes out tender. It is pretty much fool proof. =) Your dinner sounds wonderful! I’m about to go on a no carb no sugar diet for a couple of weeks starting tomorrow. So I won’t be making any curries or anything for a while, until my new flame gets in town =) Then when he’s here, the cooking will start up again, because he likes to help and learn. He’s also not a vegetarian, so we will be getting to try a bunch of new recipes. I am excited!!! Oye, I am still cursing the lighting in this place. We don’t even have a ceiling light in the living room! What is a light box?!?!?

      • Ooh, new flame? Ah, I’m an old married lady now so I no longer relate to such exciting things! 😉 I look forward to seeing your foodie adventures together!
        A light box is a box-shaped frame with white panels that you illuminate with halogen lights to try and eliminate shadows etc. It helps when photographing at night as it’s white light (clean). There are plenty of links on the net if you want to make one!

  3. Pingback: Diwali Recipe Roundup! | WhitBit's Indian Kitchen·

Leave a Reply

