Indian Roast Chicken

vN5gG7xRbMmPv3N9Bbo9J2M2mCd8G6YOQ-Gxz_2IPAQ

Well hello lovely people of the WordPress/email community! I apologize in advance for this post. I am a little hyper and the fact that it is 5am, I have had no sleep, I am working on my second cup of coffee and I have already had my breakfast of an omelette and country potatoes will probably have an affect. See, that was a super long sentence. I have to be at work in ohhhh 4.5 hours, so this day should be interesting. I’m firing the part of the brain that creates sleepy time. I want a new one.

I really should be working, but instead I’ve been chatting, listening to music, cooking, and dancing around the kitchen with Penny. Luke did not like that I was trying to dance with Penny. He ran into the kitchen, stuck out his arms, grabbed her, and drug her away. I guess he was telling me that nobody danced with Penny but him. So, now that my dog has been taken away from me by my other dog, I shall blog. So today’s/week’s/whatevers post will be a chicken I roasted using Indian spices. I guess you could call it tandoori style whole chicken..but I ain’t got no tandoor. (Said with the most elegant Southern accent)…..

I decided to try out a roasted chicken because 1) I am damn lazy. I did not want to have to deal with the mess of a whole bunch of chicken parts, nor did I want to deal with cleaning up after a whole bunch of chicken parts. 2) I wanted to see if roasting the chicken whole would turn out any different than roasting a bunch of legs or thighs. 3) I’m damn lazy. I wanted to be able to use leftovers a few times for other meals. So, just so you know, using leftover chicken from this dish in a wrap is really handy and quite good. On a side note, the rest of this post will be written whilst listening to Robin Thicke’s newish single “Blurred Lines” on full volume and repeat, and possibly a 3rd cup of coffee.

PS, you will need a full day to prepare. The chicken needs to marinade at the least overnight, if not, 24-48 hours before cooking.

Ingredients:

  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp red chili powder
  • 2 lemons, part of one for making paste, the rest for chicken
  • 1 whole chicken, skin on
  • 1-1.5 cups of thick yogurt, I used low fat Greek yogurt
  • 2 onions, 1 diced and 1 sliced
  • 1 handful crushed kasoori methi
  • 1 tsp red chili powder
  • 1 tsp coriander powder
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp cumin powder
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1 tsp ginger paste
  • a pinch of red food coloring
  • 1 bunch coriander leaves
  • 2 green chilis
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1 cup yogurt
  • 2 tbsp melted butter

To Make:

One to two days before you want to make the chicken, make a paste of the top 3 ingredients (red chili powder, salt, and lemon juice). hsGAh2pOh_bYwejeJDYWrz830IW8PVo6XbY-RVyq7Sg

Using a knife, Make some slits in the thickest parts of the chicken, along the bones. So at the thigh, leg, breast. H5rASOogsaoabGelslAFrjNHbl4Eg_27c8Yja8XR7aw

Take the paste and rub it into the slits. xsQYZEIr-eYReHaRNbEjG2HTThbBBkoLghPJsxYBf10

Set it aside for 15ish minutes.

In a blender, blend the rest of the ingredients except for the lemons, 1 onion, and coriander leaves and green chilis and last cup of yogurt. Rub the paste all over the chicken, including underneath the patches of skin. Get in there and just feel her up. Rub her all over, and don’t even apologize.

iF-nml6XfmRn2SaKhr1rVQZeZCALFuk4NV-ptkSdPZo

Transfer the chicken into a large Ziploc bag, or if your bag isn’t big enough, just keep it on a plate and loosely wrap in plastic wrap. It’s ok if you have excess marinade. Put her in the fridge until about half an hour before ready to cook. Take her out and let her come to room temperature before cooking. Around half an hour. Martha says roasting a chicken from room temp helps with even cooking. Do what you want, I suppose. MRrFLgLiTmw9mkVh-KrK00u_T1AR8Q8BJgep2AUaR3s

Preheat oven to 425. If you want, tie the legs. I did. I don’t know why. I never have before. I probably wouldn’t bother again. Whatevs. In a roasting pan, place the sliced onion along with the garlic and green chilis and a cookie rack. Take the chicken out of the bag, and use your hands to wipe off a little of the marinade. Put the chicken on the cookie rack, so that the juices drip down onto the onions and garlic and green chilis. Squeeze the rest of the lemons over the chicken, and then put them up the chickens butt. 0_bVjf9EHX5LqeaGzsAjvrtdVvFCqUQEU6vcZs5CdcA tppyPezrr4xKkI_NUXMU6ZKKdUVidOu622F_DVhfnTs

Put the chicken in the oven and bake for half an hour. Turn the oven down to 350 pour the melted butter over the chicken, and roast for another 50 minutes, or until the chicken’s juices run clear. The bigger the chicken, the longer the cooking time. I cooked mine for around an hour and 20 minutes or so.

Once done, let the chicken rest about 10 minutes before cooking.

This goes really well with coriander sauce blended with the yogurt, onions, chilis, garlic, and dripping sauce from the roasting pan. So blend all those things together and you will come up with something like this:P-Srx7GWBk5zqH5V_-i37w3-hvHZftBeh6mwt23zYA0

Here is what the chicken should look like:

WsGw910YAlcpq8sW_rL46QRijyRwC8ZgeERKRa2BeFA ejN_W2JCJog-9s7kGnBbPDNOSuZIS4Cd8WR4XytLQ-s vN5gG7xRbMmPv3N9Bbo9J2M2mCd8G6YOQ-Gxz_2IPAQ weKiGgKtxewzW7V8JZOyrHbkn95anRqDnWz2uhOzHGs

You’re welcome. Enjoy.

7 responses to “Indian Roast Chicken

  1. I am loving Indian food right now and in fact, we just had an Indian-inspired dinner a few days ago. It was amazing – chicken tikka masala, matar pulao and cucumber-cilantro raita. I just hope I gave justice to the cuisine. But nonetheless, we loved it!

    I will be trying the recipe out. Any side dish suggestions aside from the roasted potatoes? Thanks!

    • Oh that sounds like a lovely meal!! I am sure it was amazing! As far as side dishes go, dal is an everyday side dish..or you could do Indian mashed potatoes instead of roasted.. or even a cucumber tomato onion salad, which is usually served in India as a side munch. It is flavored with lemon juice and chaat masala. Or you could even do a side of bhindi fry, and have some roti or naan. Hmm, so many suggestions, it just depends on what you’re in the mood for!

Leave a Reply

