Indian Style Mashed Potatoes

tL6HKJixHGZf_oQF1v9C2fAS6ewQ43Hf4LBI-GNo0rI

 

Hello peoples!! I realize that I have not posted anything in over a week. So sorry about that! Life has been cray cray up in here the last few weeks, well, month really. I started a new job. I lost someone very special to me. I gained someone very special to me (Hey K!!). Needless to say, it’s been a very overwhelming time.

I am sure y’all can relate to eating comfort food when you’re feeling down, or just generally overwhelmed or stressed. Being from the South, mashed potatoes are one of those comfort foods we all love. This version of mashed potatoes, however, has an Indian twist. You get the same buttery creamy flavor and consistency you’re used to, but you also get a nice dash of Indian flavors. Fenugreek seeds really give the potatoes a nice flavor, but take care not to add too many, or you will end up with a bitter taste. I served these with Indian spiced roasted pork tenderloin. If you are vegan, use oil instead of ghee. So, here we go.

Ingredients:

  • 4 large potatoes, peeled, boiled, mashed
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 1 sprig curry leaves
  • a dash of hing
  • 2 red chilis
  • 1/2 tsp mustard seeds
  • 6-8 fenugreek seeds
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • extra butter if wanted

To Make:

Heat ghee or oil in a pan on medium heat. Add red chilis, hing, curry leaves, fenugreek seeds, and mustard seeds. PiRnpeK6M_xgKbV7Bhnzt7Pgv9wzjXhqKAdI_xRZP-YOnce they splutter add the onions. Saute till golden. 3Z72pSUAsL-7cP6gwADRkKJ9zeV0taaJHdj85GXo9Fw

Add the potatoes and stir. Add salt and pepper to taste. vfko4_buqOWi-YvvlG_mFsyz-OCtuf6nMy0RtEJoI-I

Stir. 4DWU3ytsWHEcUwGYBpZb3hQiemFgg5t5H8dGhlYsBYY

 

E-OGK7BedN9VysW_Vzp5eLOslcsJi8Wn16h0LKZNlAU

 

 

18 responses to “Indian Style Mashed Potatoes

  1. I’m so sorry that life’s been so crazy, sad and demanding recently Whit. Those periods are hard enough just to travel through, never mind balancing blog stuff also! This recipe is a delicious version of comfort foot though. I love mashed potato and Indian spices, but I’ve never eaten them together (have to change that!). Take care, sending you a huge hug and warm thoughts. Don’t put any pressure on yourself to do more than your mind and body want you to! xx

  2. Ohhhhh yes…… Comfort food at its very best. If you want a bit of crunch, add some Bengal gram to the tempering and fry it golden brown before adding the onions….. The perfect accompanim is curd rice…..

  3. I’m so sorry to hear about the hard times that you’re going through. I hope things become much brighter for you soon!

    Once again I’m so sorry to mess up your delicious looking recipes for my diet. I promise that once I’m done, I’ll do them right!! Just when I was thinking of what to do with my left over cauliflower you saved me once again when I got the notification that you updated! I made mashed cauliflower with your recipe and it was awesome! I had to exclude the butter, used dry fenugreek leaves (did not have any seeds in my pantry ;_;) and only had 186 grams of cauliflower (stupid daily carbs per day restrictions!) to work with but yuuuum!

    Thanks again Whitney! You made my dinner lol!

    • Thank you for the well wishes!

      Don’t be ridunkulus. You’re not messing up anything!! And the pic looks great! I keep meaning to try substituting cauliflower for potatoes!! I’ve heard cauliflower makes a pretty rad pizza crust too. I love methi leaves. I put them in a lot of recipes. They give dishes almost a buttery flavor, I think. Hope the diet is going well!!!

      • It’s going okay! The strictness is overwhelming sometimes but like I said before, your website helped me tons when I get tired of bland stuff and crave for indian food! Thanks again Whitney!

        Yessss I have to try that too! I’ve seen recipes on medifast for it and lots of raves about it. I even saw a garlic cauliflower “bread” stick recipe. Mmmmm bread… Even though it’s not really bread… lol

  4. Forgot to mention that my diet won’t allow onions!! ;_; Horrid isn’t it? I get sad every time I have to skip it… *sigh* So that’s why no yummy onions in my picture.

      • They suggest using scallions as an alternative but OMG it’s not the saaaame! They claim that it’s because of the amount of sugar in the onions that make it restricted. ;_; I can also use onion powder but still… *cries in a corner* oh how I miss onions!

  5. Pingback: Cauliflower week? | Asian Gal On A Diet·

  6. Pingback: The not-so-on-plan indian-style lean and green | Asian Gal On A Diet·

  7. Pingback: Stuffed Besan Chilla Pie (chickpea potato pie) | Indian Cooking Made Easy, Sometimes Not So Easy·

Leave a Reply

