Vanilla Chai Maple Bacon Crullers With Sticky Syrup Glaze

AYsY5EGfCkNvzXXUzFKW5a41HCgJ8rjQvqtC0TLrvkU bJwn-hr9Tb5UMR24pK1j3N1slY61BS5BtdZuCQT8C1A

 

I bought a crullers pan on a whim. Mostly because it was half off at Michael’s. That store gets me every single time. I think the last time I was there, I bought a whole bunch of cake and cookie decorating things, for like 99 cents each. Some of the original prices were like 15 bucks. So I either got a really good deal, or they tricked me into paying less than a dollar for a crap product. Oh well. Back to the crullers. The pan came with a recipe, but I wanted to make something other than a plain cruller. I decided to make a sweet and savory treat, vanilla maple bacon crullers. Sorry, didn’t take pictures of the process. Oops! It’s super easy recipe, though. Just make sure that you don’t over-beat the ingredients. If you do, you will end up with a hard donut. Make it vegetarian by omitting the bacon.

Ingredients:

Donuts

  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 6 tbsp room temp butter
  • 1 3/4 cup flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp chat tea masala
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda

Topping

  • 6 pieces bacon, cooked and chopped
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1 cup powdered sugar plus more for dusting

To Make:

Heat oven to 350 and grease your pan.

In a bowl, sift together all of the dry ingredients. In another bowl, cream your butter and sugar together. Add in an egg and beat until just incorporated. Repeat with next egg, then add vanilla. Add half of the flour mix into the egg bowl and stir. Add the buttermilk and stir. Add the remaining flour and stir until incorporated. Again, do not over-mix.

Evenly spread the batter in the crullers pan, and bake for maybe 20 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Let them cook for a couple of minutes and then take them out.

Make the glaze by melting the butter and syrup in a pan over medium until it comes to a boil. Stir in the sugar and then pour over the donuts. Add the bacon pieces on top.

*In the pictures, the glaze is thin and I have sprinkled powdered sugar. I wanted a thinner sticky glaze, so I just added more syrup and less sugar. I suggest you do not do this unless you want really sticky fingers and an extra sticky pan. =)

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “Vanilla Chai Maple Bacon Crullers With Sticky Syrup Glaze

  1. Yum! These look amazing Whit! I’ve actually never heard of ‘crullers’ but just seeing the word ‘donut’ with bacon and maple syrup makes me weak at the knees 🙂 Are they just basically baked donuts, rather than fried? They look great, either way.

    • To be honest, I have no idea, really. I think they are of German background. I saw the pan, thought it was cute, bought it because it was on sale. Ha! Spontaneous purchase I guess. The French version is fried, I don’t know about the others. Oops.

Leave a Reply

