New York Cheesecake with Chocolate Ganache

8hBA7uCmOoCM4vcL3-P8NNiJIUoEuu2tuERK1vUV57E

 

I love cheesecake, especially when there’s fancy stuffs on it. Turtle cheesecake, chocolate cheesecake, oreo cheesecake..I love them all. I’ve always been scared of making it though, because there is definitely room for error.

A friend actually requested me to put up a cheesecake recipe, and since another friend’s birthday was coming up, I figured it was the perfect time to get started.

I do not have my own recipe for cheesecake, so I used Chantal’s New York Cheesecake recipe. I read all of the reviews, and there were many suggestions…bake in a water bath, open the oven and use a knife to loosen the edges, etc. I didn’t do any of the suggestions, and it came out perfectly. So as long as you follow the instructions exactly, then you shouldn’t have a problem. And because I didn’t want just a plain Jane cake, I decided to top it with chocolate ganache, and it was absolutely lovely. 4

*The only thing that I got a little confused with, was I wasn’t sure if 15 graham crackers meant the whole long cracker counted as one, or each block counted as one. I dunno. I used 15 whole long crackers, and I am thinking that was wrong because the butter was not enough. So I just melted more butter. Either way, it was fine.

Ingredients: 

For the Crust

  • 15 graham crackers, crushed
  • 2 tbsp butter, melted

For the Cheesecake

  • 4 packages of cream cheese, 8 oz
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup white flour

For the Ganache

  • 9 oz chopped bittersweet chocolate
  • 1 cup heavy cream

To Make:

Get the crust ready. I used a blender to crush the crackers. You could also put them in a bag and just bang them around or hit them with a rolling pin or something. Mix the crackers with the butter, and pat down into a greased cheesecake pan. Make sure both the sides and bottom are greased. I used cooking spray. For a crispier crust, you can bake in the oven at 350 for around 15 minutes. I did not do this. R7ZHQmqTh6gHlDqP9ZrjyT7r1YNO-aZKXZeQV_P2DGU De1364yFinmQorVs564O5_FRz5siYtOdG-9GSmhWkTU

Make the cake filling. Preheat oven to 350. In a large bowl, mix the sugar with the cream cheese until sugar is fully incorporated into cheese. It is best to use room temperature ingredients. 1L_i3_MavW6G_29qwjk-We5twULygIjyP5RzWXL_eeo

Mix in the milk. Then mix in the eggs one at a time. Make sure when you mix in the eggs, you mix it only enough to incorporate the eggs. Qne8HmU8SXpcSqaX-S8aGJIBn-dl1iL_Wo94TiNGLsg

Add the sour cream, vanilla, and flour. It is probably better to add the sour cream and vanilla, then flour. I didn’t do this though, but if I were to do it over, I would add the flour by itself. TWmtxGnCd66BW1gp6ZcNZCUIKBO0Ak-Oh9Hts1CJM2A-tzCWC_MYWC-l_n3ZYz9tCAgLc86t70KEfvfHB0_4zg

 

Pour the mix into the pan. It will come almost all the way to the top. 0FvE2B-w9365FJSdl9zK1DmuN99lXqpm98rqEsEhqcM

 

Now here is where it gets tricky. I say tricky because there is potentially a lot of temptation to cause the cake to not cook and set properly. You need to bake it in the oven for 60 minutes. After the 60 minutes is up, turn off the oven, and let the cake stay in the oven for 6 hours. Don’t even think about opening the oven to take a look. Just don’t do it. So if you have other things you need to bake, then I suggest you make the cake the night before, and allow to set in oven overnight. Again, don’t open the oven. If you do, then it is very likely that the cheesecake terminator will visit, and make you cry. Not really, you just might end up with a cracked and ugly cake. We don’t want that. 2xubTUjwuO898zbWys7e5HL1kC01-9JVz9O1RDsInxk

Make the ganache.

Put the chopped chocolate in a medium bowl and put the cream into a saucepan. Bring the cream to a boil over medium heat. It doesn’t need to be a major boil, so as soon as it starts to boil, remove from heat and pour over chocolate. Stir until all chocolate is melted, and then pour over cake. yTyEyZCQEz2I9NNgOTwVjkdyAn7gHhJon14ZqAIy-4A

*Refrigerate the cake until ready to serve. It can be left out for around 2 days, but will last around a week in the fridge. Try a drizzle of berry sauce over the cake.

yISPCpn4ibXSjFDPzXOTdOPfJf_jdU3kEjZPrp3zNU0 cqcqLBa27NGwaGpMw7Aobzsh2_p8douv_6efVt5-lnM

8 responses to “New York Cheesecake with Chocolate Ganache

    • Thanks! I use the berry sauce often with cakes. It’s a nice raspberry. I was really surprised at the texture. Turned out quite well for my first one I think. =)

Leave a Reply

