Buttermilk Southern Fried Chicken & Indian Fried Chicken

4b365d7a-7a28-4c03-8712-95251bf01c87wallpaper

I’m not talkin’ KFC, Popeye’s, Church’s, or whatever else other fast food chicken type restaurants there are. I am talking about the honest to goodness deep south southern fried chicken. And it is mighty tasty. I remember when I was a child, my mother would often make fried chicken on Sundays, after church. And it was the best thing EVER. I would watch her while she fried, and as she took the chicken out of the pan I would always break off pieces of the crust. I would also usually get my hand slapped. She always shallow fried hers. I deep fry mine. I think mine’s better, but don’t tell me mom I said that.

We had a fried chicken dinner party with the neighbors, and it was so much fun. It was especially fun because our Russian roommate Artem, had never had homemade fried chicken before. We also have a new friend from India, who had also never had it. They were used to fast food fried chicken. When it started cooking, Artem kept coming into the kitchen and touching his belly. He took a picture of his food, and then after 4 pieces of chicken, he said he’d never been so excited for a meal before. Folks, this is why I love cooking. I love to cook, because I like to know that someone has enjoyed their meal. So, here we go.

Ingredients:

  • 2 brown paper bags (optional)
  • chicken, skin on, (thighs, legs, breasts)
  • 2 cups flour, all purpose or self rising
  • 1/8 tsp of baking soda (if using all purpose flour)
  • 1-1.5 tsp pepper
  • 3 eggs
  • 1.5 cups hot sauce, optional (don’t worry, it will not make the chicken spicy, at least I don’t consider it spicy)
  • 1/3 cup water
  • buttermilk, enough to cover the chicken
  • salt, to season chicken
  • pepper, to season chicken
  • garlic powder, to season chicken
  • oil for frying, peanut or canola is suggested
  • cookie sheet, and a cooking rack
  • 2 tbsp garam masala powder (Indian version)
  • 2 tbsp red chili powder (Indian version)
  • 2 tbsp chaat masala (Indian version)
  • 1 lemon cut in half (Indian version)
  • chopped cilantro (Indian version)

To Make:

In a large bowl, add the chicken. Pour enough buttermilk to cover the chicken, and then add 1 cup hot sauce. Give it a good stir. Let the chicken soak for a few hours. This is essential. Do not skip this step.IMG_20130422_190402

Place the chicken on a cooling rack that has been placed in a cookie sheet, and let the chicken dry for around 20 minutes.IMG_20130422_190902

Get the flour ready. Using a brown paper bag makes this really easy. Add the flour and pepper (and baking soda if not using self rising flour) to the bag. Give it a good couple shakes to make sure the pepper gets incorporated. If you don’t have a paper bag, just use whatever you have handy.

Season the chicken with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Don’t be shy, but don’t over season.

In a bowl, beat the eggs along with the water and remaining hot sauce.

Dip the seasoned chicken both sides in the egg. IMG_20130422_195621

Add chicken, a few pieces at a time to the bag of flour. Give it a couple of shakes and make sure the chicken is nicely coated.

Place floured chicken on cooling racks again, and let it dry again while the oil is heating.IMG_20130422_200400

In a large pot, add the oil. Don’t add it more than half way, you don’t want it to overflow when you add chicken. Heat the oil to 350. It REALLY helps to have a thermometer.

When the oil is hot, add chicken, a few pieces at a time. Don’t overcrowd. Make sure the oil stays at a steady temperature. For legs and thighs, it takes around 13-15 minutes. For breasts, cooking time is around 8-10 minutes. Chicken is ready when juices run clear.IMG_20130422_200656

Remove from oil and drain on the other paper bag, or paper towels. Whatever you have. For those of you that like a little extra seasoning, sprinkle more salt and garlic powder on top of the chicken. IMG_20130422_212809 IMG_20130422_213607 IMG_20130422_203852

For all you Indian food lovers out there, mix the Indian spices together, and sprinkle on both sides of the chicken. Squeeze lemon over the chicken, and garnish with coriander leaves. IMG_20130422_204423

Yum yum yum yum yum, delicioso.

9 responses to “Buttermilk Southern Fried Chicken & Indian Fried Chicken

  1. I actually have an Indian boyfriend and a lot of Indian friends and they love fried chicken. I made it for a potluck one time and it was gone in seconds. You should ask if your Indian friends can make Tandoori Chicken. You can find it at Indian chains a lot, but it’s really similar to what you were saying with fried chicken and KFC. There’s no substitute for homemade.

    • Actually, I have an Indian boyfriend of several years myself. I’ve been involved with Indian community for probably around 10 years. Over these years, I’ve learned how to make Indian food, including tandoori chicken. Most of my blog is dedicated to Indian food, hence the blog title. And yes, I agree, nothing like homemade tandoori chicken =)

      • That’s cool. I actually cook mostly Asian food myself, and a lot of Indian. Currently paneer is my friend. I’ve never made tandoori chicken myself because I have a friend who makes it really really well, and i usually just bribe him with a cooking trade. It’s nice to see someone else who likes Indian food.

      • I love making paneer. I like to try new ingredients to use with it. My favorite paneer so far is with red chili flakes and cilantro. I comes out sort of like a pepperjack. It’s funny, instead of me going to my Indian friends for food, they mostly come to me for food.

      • That’s actually supper funny because that happens to me too. I’m the first even among my Indian friends to try to make paneer at home, though I was motivated by purely fiscal reasons. I love paneer and at our IG it’s 7$.

      • Yeah paneer is really expensive, and it doesn’t ever taste right. But even making it homemade it still doesn’t taste as good as it does in India. I suppose because they use unmodified purely fresh milk.

      • Probably. I’ve never had paneer in India, so I can’t really say, but it probably also has to do with how fresh the milk is. I’d say if you make paneer with milk that isn’t even a couple of hours to a day old it would have a lot different taste than when it’s who knows how old. Also, my mom insists that milk tastes different at different times of the year, she thinks it’s because of what the cow is eating. So that would also probably make a huge difference, between America and India.

Leave a Reply

