Chicken Curry

IMG_20130401_210813

This is just one version of chicken curry. I really don’t think there is a set rule for curry, and it can be whatever you want it to be. Sure, there are certain types of curry that have the same flavor, but at the end of the day, curry is curry. And this is my one time version, using pretty much every single spice I had available. It was an experiment, really. To see if I could still put everything in the pan, and still have it come out tasting good. It did. In fact, it was better than I expected. So, for those of you wanting to make your own curry, don’t feel the need to use a recipe. Experiment with what you already have in the kitchen. Don’t be afraid to use anything and everything.

For those of you who read my blog, you may or may not know, we have a Russian guy staying with us. It is very hard living with a new person, especially when there is a language barrier. He has his quirks, but he also has his WTH moments. Ok, maybe it is me that has those WTH moments.

He mostly eats at his lab. What he eats, I have no clue. He only cooks at home maybe once every couple of weeks. The rest of the time he will eat what I make, although not all the time, even though he has already eaten. The guy eats like a horse.

Anyways, my latest WTH moment was caused by his latest trip to the grocery store. We had gone grocery shopping a couple of weeks earlier. We bought some chicken, shrimp, you know, the usual. The freezer was getting crowded. Then he makes his latest trip. I open the freezer the next day, and this is what I see. IMG_20130401_151753

Do you see how packed this thing is? He pretty much bought duplicates of everything. I stood there for a while, thinking to myself that I had just arranged the freezer. Then I thought ok he must be working for the KGB, and he is just trying to divert my OCD mind away from his real occupation. I mean why else would he think we need two bags of chicken breasts, when he hadn’t even opened the first one. I hardly ever eat meat, but I needed this extra chicken gone. I decided to make chicken curry. And this is what happened.

First I did this.

IMG_20130401_141519

Then I did this. IMG_20130401_142702

Then this and this.IMG_20130401_142904 IMG_20130401_143118Then I did a little of this. IMG_20130401_144703 IMG_20130401_144827 IMG_20130401_145000
Then a little of this happened.

IMG_20130401_145314 IMG_20130401_145523 IMG_20130401_145650

Don’t forget the chicken. BTW, did you know that you can cook chicken breast in a pressure cooker, and it will be nice and tender, and able to shred?IMG_20130401_145143 IMG_20130401_151443

And voila, I ate it like this.

IMG_20130401_210801

USA 1 Russia 0.

Ingredients:

  • Chicken breasts, cooked fully, and cut into chunks
  • 1 tsp cumin seeds
  • 1 tsp coriander seeds
  • whole garam masala (black and green cardamom, cloves, mace, cinnamon, bay leaf)
  • 8 fenugreek seeds
  • 1/2 tsp mustard seeds
  • 2 red chilis
  • 2 green chilis
  • 1 onion diced
  • 1 tsp ginger garlic paste
  • 1 cup crushed tomatoes
  • 1 tbsp kasoori methi
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1 tsp cumin powder
  • 1/2 tsp red chili powder
  • 1 tsp coriander powder
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric powder
  • salt, to taste
  • oil for cooking
  • water, for thinning

To Make:

In a large pan heat some oil. Once hot add cumin seeds through red chilis. Once it starts smelling nice, add the onions. Cook till golden brown and then add the turmeric and ginger garlic paste. Cook till raw smell goes away. Add the tomatoes and green chilis, cover and simmer till oil starts showing through tomatoes. Add to a blender and blend.

Melt some butter in the same pan, and then add the tomato blend. Add a little water to thin it out (the rest of the spices will make it thicker). Add the rest of the ingredients except for the chicken, and simmer for 10 minutes. Add the chicken, and simmer till chicken has absorbed the spices, about 5-10 minutes.

Serve with rice or chapatis. IMG_20130401_210837

Leave a Reply

