Indian Pizza

PicsPlay_1364404760408

 

Do you ever have those moments where you just can’t decide what to make for dinner? I had that moment the other night. I wanted pizza, because I had bought a fresh batch of pizza dough at Whole Foods, but I just did not know what I wanted to put on it. I stood there in the kitchen for who knows how long. Eventually, because I could not make up my mind, I decided I would just put random crap on it. So, I guess you could call this Aloo Tikki Paneer Tikka Pizza?!? Yep, my pizza had potatoes. And paneer. And it ended up being so dang delicious. I surprised myself. I already had some paneer, so I just turned it into paneer tikka, and I made a quick batch of potato masala. Instead of turning them into aloo tikkis, I just spread it onto the dough. I also Indianified (is that a word?) the tomato sauce by adding a little masala. Bam!

Ingredients:

  • fresh pizza dough
  • 1 cup tomato puree
  • 1 tbsp pav bhaji masala
  • potato masala (click here for recipe)
  • paneer cubed (click here for recipe)
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric powder
  • 1 tsp red chili powder
  • 1 tsp coriander powder
  • 1 tsp cumin powder
  • 1 tsp ginger garlic paste
  • 1/2 cup yogurt
  • 1/2 tsp lemon juice
  • additional cheese for topping, any kind (I used pepperjack)
  • chopped cilantro for topping
  • red onions diced, for topping
  • green chutney, for topping
  • chaat masala, for topping

To Make:

Make the paneer tikka. Marinade paneer cubes for at least 30 minutes in yogurt, lemon juice, red chili powder, coriander powder, turmeric, cumin powder, and ginger garlic paste. On a griddle, pan fry paneer cubes till golden brown on each side. I ended up slicing mine after they were cooked so they would not be such large pieces.

Make the sauce. In a pan add the tomato puree and pav bhaji masala. Cook for 3-4 minutes, or until desired doneness. Let cool.

Preheat oven to 475

Make the potato masala and keep aside.

Roll out the pizza dough into a circle. If you don’t have fresh dough, you can use a store bought pizza crust. IMG_20130321_195019

Spread the tomato sauce over dough. You are going to want to go ahead and put the dough on a baking sheet.IMG_20130321_195203

Spread the potato masala on top of sauce. IMG_20130321_195338

Sprinkle desired cheese on top of potato masala. IMG_20130321_195444

Add paneer tikka on top of sprinkled cheese. IMG_20130321_195649

Bake in oven until cheese is melted and crust is golden brown. Around 10-12 minutes.IMG_20130321_200955

Top with coriander leaves, red onions, and chaat masala. PicsPlay_1364404760408 IMG_20130321_201452IMG_20130321_211232

 

 

6 responses to “Indian Pizza

  1. Looks delicious! I remember ordering pizza when I was in India, and paneer was one of my go-to toppings 🙂 -Veronica

  2. Sorry, to be commenting again. Actually I was intrigued at your creativity and ingenuity. You have Indianized the pizza! Yes, that’s the word. You need to promote your blog, let people see how an Alabama girl can also cook Bengali Eggplant fry. I’m a Bengali and find your love for Indian food very interesting. Infact, today I’m cooking aloo-pata gobi, just because I’ve seen it in your blog. We Bengalis cook it in a similar fashion and call it bandha-kopi-r ghonto.

    • Why are you sorry for commenting?? You are welcome to comment all you want! And again, you’ve left such a lovely compliment! I think I wrote complement on the other comment, haha! I’m so happy to have inspired you to make aloo pata gobi, I love that dish! I hope to add more Bengali dishes really soon! What do you enjoy cooking?

Leave a Reply

