Masala French Fries

PicsPlay_1364234280173

Here is an Indian twist on the everyday french fry. Super simple to make. Would go great with a veggie burger or any type of burger. Or even just as a snack.

Ingredients:

  • 2 potatoes, sliced to preference
  • 2 tsp cornstarch
  • salt, to taste
  • 1 tsp red chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp coriander powder
  • 1/4 tsp cumin powder
  • 5 crushed curry leaves
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp pepper powder
  • chaat masala, for sprinkling
  • oil, for frying

To Make:

Heat oil to 320. In a bowl, mix the sliced potatoes and all the ingredients except for salt and chaat masala.IMG_20130324_155815

Fry potatoes till soft. Drain on paper towel.IMG_20130324_160507

Turn up the oil and heat to 375-390. Fry potatoes again till golden brown. Drain on paper towel and sprinkle with salt and chaat masala.

IMG_20130324_164724

5 responses to “Masala French Fries

  1. Hello again!

    You have no idea how much your site has saved me. I actually am on a diet called Medifast and I am not allowed to have more than 100g of carbs a day (within 1000 cal per day). I’m not allowed to eat starchy vegetables so I can’t eat potatoes but I can eat kohlrabi or turnips in their place. I used this recipe and it curbed my indian food cravings (my absolute weakness!) as well as my “French fry” cravings! I use an appliance called “t-fal actifry” so I was able to make them with only a teaspoon of oil. I had to omit the cornstarch due to the limitations of my diet but it still ended up wonderful! Thank you so much for making this site!

    • Hi there! So glad you have found my site useful, I really appreciate the compliment!!!!! I am going to have to look up this t-fal actifry! Does it really do the job like frying should??? Sounds like a possible investment for the future..hmmm….. You know.. I have never cooked with turnips. I don’t like turnip greens so I guess I have always stayed away from the actual root!

      • I did a LOT of research and it took me over a year before I went ahead with buying it. It’s pretty expensive for what it is, and that was the main thing stopping me from going ahead with it. If you do decide to buy one, go for the amazon warehouse deals. I saved $50 (got it for $130) just because the box was damaged, and it’s amazon so they pretty much give you the same guarantee as buying new directly from amazon.

        Health wise, it’s great but I wouldn’t say it replaces frying. It’s hard to explain but it’s a bit in between stir frying and actual frying because it has an attachment in the middle that stirs the food to evenly heat the food inside. You can’t use it with something heavily battered like pakoras and you could never try to make your own namkeens with it. But I have read (although have yet to try.. but can’t because of my diet at the moment) that you can remove the stirring attachment and manually turn the food when necessary or pre-freeze the food so that the batter around it hardens so that the stirring attachment doesn’t mess the batter up. I’ve had luck with lightly battered food. I used sakthi chicken 65 mix with chicken thighs for example (the mix has corn flour in it). Because it was chicken thighs, it didn’t need oil at all and it was so yummy and crispy! It just used the fat from the chicken thigh (it was boneless/skinless btw). You’d need oil for chicken breast though.

        There is another simular appliance by Phillips (hasn’t made it’s way to the US market yet) that will air-fry battered food but cannot use oil. You can see the comparison here (there’s also an example of battered, breaded food tested with the actifry) http://www.notquitenigella.com/2011/07/15/healthy-potato-croquettes/ I was thinking about buying that one as there is a Japanese version (I have a japanese bread maker by panasonic and I just use a step up transformer so that I can use it here in the US) but the price is ridiculous as it’s $250!

        I should mention though, when I used crushed curry leaves in these masala fries some flew off (probably because I didn’t use cornstarch to help the ingredients stick, but I’ve made this recipe a couple of times already and I learned that if I crush the leaves fine enough it’ll stick. It’s the air flow in the appliance that blew the flakes away.

        Oh and with turnips, they’re not bad! They’re slightly sweet, but if you pick a bad one, it’ll be bitter. I still don’t have the hang of picking them yet. I can tell once I’ve cut into one immediately though. The hard ones are bitter and the ones that cut smoothly tend to be the good ones. They don’t end up crunchy like potatoes do, but it’s close enough to curb my potato cravings… omg how I crave aloo gobi!! Maybe I can try it with turnips. I’ve tried your masala fries with kohrabi and that was good too!

      • Btw, that link that I included isn’t a fair review. I just wanted to show you what happens if you use the actifry for battered/breaded foods and see it’s $250 competitor.

        The website owner didn’t try to make the same fries again using a shorter amount of time (obviously shoestring cut fries are going to get over cooked at 25 miniutes) or she could have checked while it was cooking if they were done. And for the croquettes– after I saw that site before buying my actifry, I looked around and that’s where I found out about people removing the stirrer, or pre-freezing when cooking battered/breaded foods. But like I said, I have yet to try that myself as I can’t eat anything batttered at the moment.. 😦

        Here’s a site that made an indian style snack with actifry. Not battered, but you’ll get some perspective on how actifry works with this one. http://curryliciousme.com/2012/07/26/actifry-the-latest-favorite-gadget-in-my-kitchen/

      • Wow, that sounds amazing! Thanks for all the info! I think I am definitely going to have to look into getting one of these eventually, when I can afford the purchase. 1 tsp of oil sounds great to me. I wonder if it would do bhindi fry? What about parsnips, are you allowed to have those? If so, those might be another alternative to potatoes?

Leave a Reply

