Dill Mashed Potato Scones

PicsPlay_1364233842990

 

I don’t know about you, but I don’t use a lot of dill in my cooking. It is unfortunate, considering dill has such a unique and bold flavor. We have a Russian visiting scholar staying with us, and let me tell you, Russians use the heck out of dill. I mean they put it in ev.ry.thing. So, this recipe is inspired by the bag of fresh dill that has been sitting in my fridge for several days now (I don’t think Mr. Russian is aware that it is there.)

I also love mashed potatoes, so I thought hmm what can I do with potatoes and dill besides make mashed potatoes. I got it, I’ll make mashed potato scones! Weird, huh? These have the same texture as mashed potatoes, but they hold together like bread. I also added some pepperjack cheese to give it a nice added dose of goodness. They were delicious as a dinner side, and were even delicious as breakfast the next morning. I can think of so many variations for these. Maybe next time I will make them spicy.

Ingredients:

  • 2 large potatoes, peeled and boiled, drained, fork tender and warm
  • half a stick of butter, soft
  • salt, to taste
  • pepper, to taste
  • 1-2 tbsp chopped dill, depending on how strong you like it
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 cups cheese, I used pepperjack
  • butter or oil for sauteing

To Make:

In a large bowl, mash potatoes with a masher, or put them through a potato ricer. Add the butter, salt, dill, and pepper, and stir until butter is dissolved. Add the flour and baking soda, and using your hands, mix into the potatoes until incorporated. Do not over-mix. Form into a ball and cover with a cloth, set aside for 20 minutes. IMG_20130324_200026 IMG_20130324_200440 IMG_20130324_200912 IMG_20130324_201043

Gently, roll out the potato and flour mixture into a rectangle (or your version of a rectangle) on a floured surface. Add the cheese to the side of one half, then fold over. Gently roll out. Cut into triangles, as this seemed to be the easiest way. Or you can just cut them into rectangles. IMG_20130324_203339 IMG_20130324_203532 IMG_20130324_203617 IMG_20130324_203832

In a skillet, heat to medium. Add oil or butter. Once melted, add a few scones. Cook around 4 minutes on both sides, until golden brown and cheese is melted. Make sure you use a big enough pan, I had to switch pans, because it was hard to turn the first batch over.IMG_20130324_204056 IMG_20130324_211459

They can be placed in an oven, around 200* to keep warm while cooking the others.

Enjoy!

PicsPlay_1364234089838

2 responses to “Dill Mashed Potato Scones

Leave a Reply

