Inside Out Turkey Samosas

afterfocus_1363999424281

I bought a pack of ground turkey meat, with every intention of using it for….something. After I stared at it in the fridge for several minutes, I shut the door. I reopened the door telling myself I need to do something before it goes bad, and I don’t have room in the freezer. I had a pack of wonton wrappers in the fridge also. I opened the door again and eyed the turkey, then eyed the wonton wrappers. I shut the door telling myself no more samosas. I reopened the fridge, said what the hell, then grabbed the turkey and wontons. I was not in the mood to spend all afternoon deep frying. I also was not in the mood for eating deep fried food. I don’t care how good a samosa tastes. I decided to put my creative brain cells to work.

So this happened…

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 pack of ground turkey
  • 1/4 cup frozen peas
  • 2 tbsp oil
  • 12 wonton wrappers
  • a muffin tin
  • 1/2 tsp cumin seeds
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric
  • 1/2 onion chopped finely
  • 1 tsp ginger garlic paste
  • 1/2 tsp red chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp cumin powder
  • 1/3 tsp coriander powder
  • 1/2 tsp amchur powder
  • 1/4 tsp garam masala powder
  • 1 tbsp chopped coriander leaves
  • salt, to taste
  • red onion, finely chopped for topping (optional)
  • yogurt, for topping (optional)
  • green chutney, for topping (optional)

To Make:

Heat oil in a pan. Once hot add cumin seeds. Once they crack, add onions and frozen peas. Cook till onions are translucent and peas are cooked. Add turmeric, stir. Add ginger garlic paste. Stir. Cook till raw smell goes away. Add turkey. Cook and mess with it, making sure it gets nice and ground. Add the rest of the spices, cook till turkey is done. Set aside.

IMG_20130322_165643

Preheat oven to 350. Line a muffin tin with one wrapper each. Bake in oven till golden brown.

IMG_20130322_165647 IMG_20130322_170552

Take out, line with another wrapper for the edges, fill with turkey meat. Pop back in oven. Bake till second wrappers are golden brown. Plate, and top with red onions, yogurt, and green chutney.

IMG_20130322_171024 IMG_20130322_172329

I realized I wasn’t going to eat them all, so I chased down my neighbor and pretty much shoved them in his face. He gave me the thumbs up.

These would make for a good party appetizer, and could be filled with ground beef, or regular potato masala.

Enjoy!

4 responses to “Inside Out Turkey Samosas

    • Folding samosas definitely takes practice! It took many trials and once I was able to do it I was like ooooooooooo! On one of my samosa recipes I think I have a step by step, but I can’t remember? But do try it, and let me know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

