Chai Beignets

IMG_20130318_181802

“Chai-India’s National Drink. Stronger than Vodka, Healthier than Rum, Cheaper than Scotch!” – I have a shirt with this saying. I laugh every time I think about it.

I do love chai.  It is so nice to drink on a rainy day or a cold day. We have been having lovely weather lately, in the 70s and nice and sunny. That changed today. Suddenly the temperature dropped, wind started blowing, the stairs started shaking..heck, the table even blew off the balcony. Then the power went out. Right as I was heating up the oil to make beignets. Perfect. Then it hit me. I bet some chai masala would go really well with these. Luckily, I had some tea masala (I keep tea masala handy in case I want to experiment with baking) in the pantry. I added some to the beignet mix, covered it and set it aside till the power came back on. These things were perfect. Just the right subtle flavor of chai. I even used my leftover strawberry mix, and stuffed a few with the puree. OMG. So. Freaking. Good.

I hope you enjoy this mix of Indo-French cuisine!

Ingredients:

1 box of beignet mix (bought at almost any grocery store)

oil for frying

powdered sugar for topping

1.5-2 tsp tea masala (can buy at any Indian store)

extra flour for rolling

strawberry puree (optional)

To Make Without Stuffing:

Heat oil to 370.

Mix two cups beignet mix with tea masala. Use 1.5 for subtle flavor, use 2 for bolder flavor. Add 7 oz water, and mix. Roll out flat using extra flour to keep from sticking, and cut into small rectangles. I used circles instead of rectangles, I’m a rebel.

When oil is ready, fry beignets. Add one to two at a time. It will take around 10 seconds to float up. Once it floats, press down in a bobbing motion so they puff. Turn over for another 5-10 seconds. Drain on paper towel. Once they are all finished, top with powdered sugar.

IMG_20130318_175805 IMG_20130318_181318

To Make With Stuffing:

Cut out two pieces of dough. On the bottom piece, use water and wet along the sides. Add a small spoonful of strawberry puree. Top with other dough. Press the sides down, ensuring they are closed. Fry the same way and drain.

IMG_20130318_174656PicsPlay_1363651008101

2 responses to “Chai Beignets

Leave a Reply

