Jalapeno Pimiento Cheese Leek Spread

I made potato leek soup last week, and I used all but one leek. Lately, whenever I open the fridge, I felt the one lone leek staring at me. I knew I had to use it or else it would end up in the trash. I remembered I bought some jalapeno pimento cheese at Whole Foods, so I decided to do an experiment. I caramelized the leek with some ghee and olive oil. I also added some Indian spices (cumin powder, coriander powder, garam masala), then ground the onions into a paste. I toasted a piece of artisan bread, and spread the cheese and onions on top. OMG, was so good. I am sure it would also taste good with regular onions as well. I think I just created a new appetizer to serve to dinner guests.

Onion Pimento Bread

Leave a Reply

