It was a samosa kind of day…

BeFunky_ViewFinder_7.jpg

The weather has been weird lately. More rain than usual, and very windy. Today was not so bad. It was raining on my way to school, but by the time I got there it had stopped. But then the wind began. I figured today would be a good day for samosas. I didn’t feel like putting the work in and actually making the dough for the samosas, and I didn’t want to fry anything, so I went to an Asian store in Tuscaloosa and bought a pack of lumpia sheets. I have never used these before, and quite frankly they were a pain in my butt. They wouldn’t stick together. They turned out like cocktail samosas. But hey, whatever. I always make dough from scratch, but today I am lazy. So here is the end result, as well as the recipe. Of course, recipes can always be adjusted according to taste and number of people. I hardly ever follow recipes. And I don’t follow measurements. I just guesstimate. And sometimes I use more or less, depending on my mood.

Ingredients:

Potatoes…I used 4, varied sizes

Green chilis..2

Coriander Seeds…1 teaspoon

Cumin seeds…1 teaspoon

ginger garlic paste, but I used ginger paste and minced garlic…1 teaspoon

Amchur powder…1 teaspoon..or you can use chaat masala

coriander leaves…1 tablespoon

garam masala…1/4 teaspoon

Coriander powder…1 teaspoon

Cumin powder…1 teaspoon

tumeric powder…1/4 teaspoon

Frozen peas…1/4 cup…I did not feel like opening a bag of peas, so I left them out

Oil…2 tablespoons

potato masala:

Either peel and cut the potatoes into chunks and boil until soft, or you can wash them and leave the peel on and put them in the microwave for about 9-10 minutes. I put them in the microwave. Remember, lazy, yet efficient. Then you can peel them easily and cut them. This is also when I cut the green chilis.

Take a pan on about medium or a little higher, and add the oil. Once oil is hot, add the cumin and coriander seeds. Once these crackle, add the ginger garlic paste. After about 30 seconds to a minute, add the tumeric. 30 seconds later add the powder spices except for the amchur. Sautee for about a minute.

IMAG0352 IMAG0353

Then add the green chilis, give it a couple whirls, then add the potatoes. If you want mushy potatoes, mush them down. If not, just stir until potatoes are covered with masala. Add amchur powder and coriander leaves, give it another couple of stirs and take it off the heat. Once the potatoes are cool, then you can fill.

 IMAG0354IMAG0355

To Stuff:

I would suggest not using lumpia sheets. Probably better to use spring roll pastry or something similar if you are going the short route. Use water and wet the outlines of the pastry dough, roll into a cone and stuff. Bake in the oven at 350 until golden brown. As you saw, my samosas were not pretty, but they were tasty.

 

*** For instructions on how to properly use dough and fry samosas, click here

6 responses to “It was a samosa kind of day…

    • Thanks! At first the thought of making samosas was scary. But the more I did it, the easier it got. Now they are one of my favorite things to make.

  1. Pingback: Bread Pakoda, Deep fried Indian snack stuffed with potatoes! | Indian Cooking Made Easy, Sometimes Not So Easy·

  2. Pingback: Samosas, Take 2! | Indian Cooking Made Easy, Sometimes Not So Easy·

  3. What kind of chili do you use? I used serrano (maybe its not ideal.. but from pictures it looked the closest in similarity) and what ever I make with it had a bitter taste because of it. I since switched to jalepeno which has been better but lacks spicyness! Please help!

Leave a Reply

