Candied Pecans

DSC_1345

I don’t like pecans. Growing up, my mother used to put pecans in everything she baked. I hated it. I still do. I would always make her do a batch of cookies or cake first without nuts. Most of the time, and still now she “forgets” to leave them out. I think she hates me.

Apparently, though, I like pecans when they don’t taste like pecans. And candied pecans don’t taste like pecans. They taste like candy. If you are a member of the pecan haters club, like me, then candied pecans are the way to go. For all you pecan lovers out there, boo on you (just kidding), and here is another recipe for you. (I also love pecan pie…is that weird?)

Baking this recipe will have your kitchen smelling like a bakery. These pecans would be great for a party, or even to wrap in individual bags to give as gifts. Try not to eat all of them at once, yeah?DSC_1341

Ingredients:

  • 6 cups pecan halves
  • 2 egg whites
  • 2 tbsp water
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp cardamom powder
  • 2 tsp salt

To Make:

Heat the oven to 300. Line two cookie sheets with parchment paper or if you have a silpat, use that.

Add the egg whites and water in a large bowl. Using a hand mixer, beat on medium high until you get stiff peaks. Takes about 5 minutes. Be sure not to over-beat, or the peaks will begin to regress.

Fold in all the spices. Fold in the pecans.

Pour the pecan mixture onto the cookie sheets, and spread out evenly.

Bake for about 45 minutes, stirring every 15-20 minutes. Make sure you don’t burn the pecans! Once finished, let the pecans cool completely.

As long as you keep them in an airtight container, they will keep for several weeks.

DSC_1347

17 responses to “Candied Pecans

    • Haha! I dunno about renouncing American citizenship, but it probably renounces my Southern heritage. Ha! Ground pepper is good in nuts, but I just wanted these sweet =) I used pepper in the spiced pecans I made, though. Well, red chili powder.

    • I hope you like them! They are really tasty and such a good small gift! Please note that I made a brain fart and typed wax paper instead of parchment paper. So when you bake, take that into consideration!
      No judging! =p

  1. Have just printed off your recipe, shall purchase the pecans this afternoon and come the week-end… it’s operation Candied Pecans – thank you for sharing!

  2. another person garbage… here, pecans are so rare you can get them only in tiny bags as luxury nuts! we have plenty of walnuts, little cousins of pecans in taste. I would really like to make the recipe, I would try to substitute them if they don’t taste afterwards like pecans.I would let you know

Leave a Reply

