McDonald’s McAloo Tikki Burger

IMG_20130417_213008

Have you been to a fast food restaurant in a foreign country? When I was in India, I went to several. McDonald’s, Subway, KFC, Pizza Hut, Dominoes, etc. All of them were sooooooo much better than the crap ones here, except for Subway. Subway made me want to barf.

One of my favorite things from fast food in India was the McAloo Tikki from McDonald’s. I don’t know why, but I loved it. G loves it too, so I decided to try to replicate it the other week, and the results were muy delicioso.

Ingredients:

  • 4 ¬†potatoes, peeled, boiled, mashed
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp cumin powder
  • 1 tsp coriander powder
  • 1/2 tsp garam masala powder
  • salt, to taste
  • 1/2 tsp red chili powder
  • 1/4 cup mixed veggies, boiled and mashed
  • 1/4 cup grated paneer
  • 1/2 tsp amchur powder
  • 1/2 tsp chaat masala powder
  • 2 tbsp chopped cilantro
  • bread crumbs for coating
  • oil for frying

To Make:

In a large bowl, combine all ingredients and make into patties. IMG_20130417_190923

 

Coat them well with bread crumbs, and freeze the patties for an hour.

IMG_20130417_210956

Heat oil on medium high, and fry patties till nice and golden brown and crispy.

Put them on a bun with your favorite toppings.

IMG_20130417_213031

 

Yep, I’m aware that I either need a smaller tikki or a bigger bun. =)

 

16 responses to “McDonald’s McAloo Tikki Burger

  1. Gorgeous post! I’ve definitely been to lots of foreign McDonalds… mostly because I’m curious as to what the differences are between our local McD’s and the offerings on menu’s overseas. My favourite McDonalds option so far is the ‘Chicken Fantastic’ from Hong Kong. The ‘roll’ is made from two glutinous rice cakes (with seaweed, a soft glutinous rice middle and crispy outside) filled with a teriyaki chicken fillet, sesame seeds, kewpie mayonnaise and some cabbage. It was so good. I ate a few during my time there!!! The McAloo sounds delicious. I’m going to try your version!

    • I went to a lot of foreign fast food places because I wanted to see what the difference was too!! It seems the foreign places have such better variety, don’t you think?! What is kewpie mayo??? I am so jealous, I want to go to Hong Kong, well I want to go everywhere!!

      • Believe it or not, Kewpie is a Japanese brand for condiments like dressings and most popularly, mayonnaise. I use it all the time!

      • I wouldn’t say it has a japanese twist lol. There aren’t any ingredients in it that would make it have one. The only twist would probably just be that it’s from japan. I guess that it’s just something you have try. All I can say is that it’s different, and in my opinion better than american mayo (I’m American btw). I don’t know if you’ve ever been to or have a sushi restaurant that puts mayonaise on top of some dishes (..it’s common in the more modern sushi restaurants in Japan– for example salmon sushi would have thinly sliced onion with mayonaise on top of it, and its reeeeaaaly good) but believe me, I’ve made sushi rolls when I didn’t have kewpie mayonaise and it did NOT go well with it lol.

      • Oh yes, I do love the mayo that is served with some sushi. I looooove sushi, sashimi not so much. I’d much rather see my raw fishies cuddled up with friends instead of naked on a rice patty. Haha. I’ve mixed mayo with sriracha, and it was delish!

  2. Hi , Today morning have to Make Burgers in the Breakfast and your Aloo Tikki Really helped me…
    from Delhi,India
    have you tried the KATHI ROLL its becoming very popular these days in delhi my fav. Egg Paneer Kathi Roll …. and All Chicken and Mutton Curries of Delhi-6 ( Old Delhi )

  3. I want to try some of these recipes. I’ve often wondered but have never traveled outside the U. S. so this would be a terrific opportunity.

    Thank you

Leave a Reply

